skip to content

Welcome to Beersel

Beersel, a warm welcome awaits!

Beersel, located just south of Brussels, in the capital’s surprisingly green, Flemish periphery, is a municipality that boasts a particularly rich and varied tourist offer. With its central location, Beersel is moreover easily accessible from across Flanders.
  • Impressive heritage

    The rich historical patrimony, with the Castle of Beersel as an absolute highlight, is certainly worth visiting. The Castle of Beersel is one of the oldest and most authentic moated castles in Flanders. Over the centuries this castle has had a rich history, yet it has managed to fully retain its medieval character. Other tourist hotspots are the Gothic Ducal Church of Our Lady in Alsemberg, the old industrial site of the Herisem paper mill in the Molenbeek valley and the provincial domain of Huizingen. Learn more about these gems as you dig deeper into our website.
    Impressive heritage
  • Green oasis

    Beersel is located in a remote corner of Flemish-Brabant, in the heart of the Senne valley. Blessed with several nature reserves and numerous other places of natural splendour, our municipality has a remarkably green character. The landscape of Beersel is characterised, amongst other things, by the winding Senne river and its low-land pastures and by the many hollow roads that separate fields and meadows.
    Those looking for an active way to explore Beersel and its natural beauty can do so on foot or by bike. Throughout the municipality, walking and cycling trails have been mapped out to help you discover Beersel. Read more about these trails in the section ‘Must-dos’.
    Green oasis
  • Burgundian character

    Belgians are known for their ‘Burgundian lifestyle’, which refers to their love of fine food and drinks. When it comes to gastronomy, Beersel has some top-notch local specialities to offer. When one thinks of Beersel, one automatically thinks of lambic beers, such as Oude Geuze and Oude Kriek. In fact, Beersel has three active producers of artisanal lambic-style beer. Why not drop in at the Visitor Centre “De Lambiek” or visit one of the breweries or geuze blenders in our municipality? Beersel is also known for its typical ‘mandjeskaas’ (literally: basket cheese), a delicious, traditionally made fresh cheese. Throughout the municipality there are plenty of catering businesses where you can savour these local delicacies. Enjoy!
    Burgundian character

au contenu

Bienvenu à Beersel

Soyez les bienvenus à Beersel!

Beersel se situe au sud de Bruxelles, non loin de la capitale, dans ce surprenant écrin de verdure qu'est le Vlaamse Rand (la périphérie flamande). En sa qualité de commune flamande périphérique, Beersel propose une offre touristique des plus variées. Sa position centrale rend Beersel aisément accessible depuis toute la Flandre.
  • Un paradis patrimonial

    Le riche patrimoine historique, dont le château de Beersel est le meilleur représentant, vaut assurément le détour. Le château de Beersel est l'un des plus anciens et des plus authentiques châteaux entourés de douves de Flandre. Ce château a accumulé une riche histoire au fil des siècles et a intégralement conservé son caractère médiéval. Citons également l'église gothique ducale Notre-Dame d'Alsemberg, l'ancien site industriel du moulin de Herisem dans la vallée du Molenbeek et le domaine provincial de Huizingen parmi nos atouts touristiques. Vous trouverez davantage d'informations sur ces perles sur les pages suivantes de notre site web.
    Un paradis patrimonial
  • Un écrin de verdure

    Beersel se situe aux confins du Brabant flamand, au cœur de la vallée de la Senne. Grâce à ses différentes réserves naturelles et ses nombreux autres endroit pittoresques, notre commune surprend par son caractère verdoyant. Le paysage de Beersel se caractérise notamment par les méandres de la Senne, par ses « Zennebeemden » et par les chemins creux qui séparent champs et prairies.
    La marche à pied et le vélo sont parfaits pour ceux qui souhaitent découvrir activement Beersel et sa nature. La commune est parcourue d’itinéraires pédestres et cyclistes balisés qui vous permettront de vous familiariser avec l'entité. Pour un complément d'information, consultez la rubrique « À faire ».
    Un écrin de verdure
  • Le caractère bourguignon

    Beersel regorge de spécialités gastronomiques. Comment évoquer Beersel sans penser aussitôt à la bière lambic, comme la Geuze à l'ancienne ou la Vieille Kriek ? Beersel compte en effet trois producteurs actifs de lambic artisanale. Rendez-vous au centre de visiteurs « De Lambiek » ou visitez l'une des brasseries ou l'une des distilleries de geuze que compte notre commune. En outre, Beersel est également célèbre pour son « Mandjeskaas », un délicieux fromage frais produit de manière artisanale. La commune compte par ailleurs de nombreux établissements de bouche qui vous proposeront de découvrir ces spécialités. À votre santé !
    Le caractère bourguignon